Going Mainstream in Maui

The lack of regular travel for the first half of 2012 for me has been troubling. I’m itching to explore… thankfully, next weekend wedding travel season begins! Many of the trips this year will be to celebrate friends making it legal. And,  we are going to be heading to some cool destinations to witness these nuptials. In honor of wedding season, I’m featuring one of the most popular honeymoon destinations for U.S. travelers – Hawaii, specifically Maui. I fought Hawaii for years. It just seemed too mainstream… I mean if other, regular people liked it, would I? Then, I was convinced I should give it a shot. As it turns out, everyone was right – Hawaii is incredible.

It looks this perfect all.the.time.

From the gorgeous beaches to the sharp cliffs to the lush mountains to the volcanic formations, there is something for everyone. Now the rumors are true that the island is expensive, but you pay for what you get… especially food. Restaurant highlights include Mala Ocean Tavern (order the tuna), Sansei Seafood + Sushi (we went twice) and the unmatched, Mama’s Fish House.  Do not leave the island without going to Mama’s. And, if you like tuna at all, find a way to have it once a meal.

Cocktails @ Mama’s

Part of the reason I had hesitated to head to Hawaii is that I’m not really a beach gal. There is so much more to Hawaii than beaches. During our time there we snuba dived, hiked, zip-lined, went to a luau and even found a winery.

The closest I will get to a bathing suit shot…

Snuba diving is a combination of scuba and snorkel. In my opinion, a great test if you’ve enjoyed snorkeling to see if you might enjoy scuba diving. I do need to work on my underwater signaling… I mistook the ‘very poisonous’ sign for the ‘touch this’ sign.

A zip-line view

Zip-lining is one of the more adventurous ways to really see the island from above. Skyline Eco Adventures made this Danimal + my number one activity of the trip. Don’t wear a white t-shirt (you get dirty) and be sure to wear long enough shorts.

Hips don’t lie..

The luau was easily the most cliché meal, but you real need to check that box if you are going all the way to the islands. Do your research about luaus to find the least cheesy one possible. Cheesy or not, I will never be able to swallow fire or hula dance – my hips just don’t do that.

Thank you, Hawaii!

Whether you are celebrating wedded bliss or just need an escape, move Maui to the top of your list!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Food, Travel Recommendations, Trips with Friends

Leave a Reply

