This One Time at Grown-Up Camp

As a child, I looked forward to summer camp all year. Really from the time that I left until I showed up again the next summer it was all I could think about. I would have stayed all summer if they had let me. Once I was too old to be a camper, I became Counselor-In-Training (CIT), and FINALLY a counselor.

.22 Instructor - I KNOW, forgive the socks... it was 1997.

This past September I got to relive the glory of summer camp at Camp Rock Eagle in Eatonton, Georgia. I was headed there for the LEAD Class of 2012 Opening Retreat. As a member of the Class of 2011, there is some apprehension about not being the “camper” anymore. How can it be as fun? Just like at camp, being a ‘counselor’ is even better.

Doesn't this scream canoe time?

Camp Rock Eagle is run by the University of Georgia System and is perfect for weekend retreats. They’ve got canoeing, ropes course, a variety of venues for dining, playing, etc. The cabins are undergoing renovations as well, and the ‘counselors’ got to stay in one that had just been gussied up. 

Cabin Time

 I already have the date penciled in for next year. I need another trip down camp-memory lane.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

